Cold and Flu Season Can Be a Monster

Flu & Cold Season Can Be A Monster

Help us protect our patients, families and staff from RSV and the flu by following these visitation restrictions currently in effect.

  • No visitors under the age of 12 are allowed in patient care areas.
  • Please do not visit patients if you are experiencing fever, vomiting, diarrhea or cold or flu-like symptoms.

Leadership Team

WakeMed and its leadership is committed to being the best in the health care business.  We continually offer new and improved medical services, build state-of-the-art, convenient facilities for our customers and hire the best and the brightest people to work in our organization - all in the name of providing a quality experience for the people we serve.

WakeMed Board of Directors

As a private, not-for-profit organization, WakeMed Health & Hospitals is governed by a 14-member volunteer Board of Directors who are representative of the communities we serve.  All inquiries for the Board should be directed to Roylyn Johnson, manager, Office of the Board & CEO at 919-350-8102 or

Executive Staff

donald gintzig

Donald R. Gintzig
President & CEO

Rick Carrico, CFO

Rick Carrico, MBA, CPA
Executive Vice President & Chief Financial Officer

denise warren

Denise Warren, MBA
Executive Vice President & Chief Operating Officer

Rebecca Andrews

Rebecca E. Andrews, MSCL
Senior Vice President & Administrator, Raleigh Campus

Cindy A. Boily

Cindy A. Boily, MSN, RN
Senior Vice President & Chief Nursing Officer

Sheri De Shazo

Sheri De Shazo, MBA, MHA, RN
Senior Vice President & Administrator North Hospital


Thomas Gough, MHA
Senior Vice President, Administrator Cary Hospital

Carolyn Knaup

Carolyn Knaup, MHA, RN
Senior Vice President, Strategic Ventures & Ambulatory Operations

Jeanene R. Martin

Jeanene R. Martin, MPH, MEd
Senior Vice President, Human Resources


Matthew Nathan, MD
Senior Vice President, WakeMed Physician Practices

West Paul

West Paul, MD, PhD
Senior Vice President, Chief Quality & Medical Staff Officer

Tom Cavender

Thomas G. Cavender, PE
Vice President, Facilities & Construction

Christine Craig

Christine Craig
Vice President, Government Affairs


Chantal Howard, MSN, RN
Vice President, Nursing, Raleigh Campus

Susan James

Susan James, JD
Vice President & Chief Legal Officer

Debra Z. Laughery

Debra Z. Laughery, MBA
Vice President, Marketing & Communications


Ted Lotchin, JD, MPH
Vice President & Chief Compliance and Privacy Officer

Peter Marks

Peter Marks, PhD
Vice President & Chief Information Officer

John Perry

John Perry, MD
Vice President, Medical Education


Stephanie Sessoms

Stephanie Sessoms
Vice President, Finance

Rick Shrum

Rick Shrum, MBA, MHA
Vice President & Chief Strategy Officer

Neal Chawla, MC

Neal Chawla, MD
Chief Medical Information Officer

Karen Bash

Karen Bash, MD
Chief Medical Officer, North Hospital

Seth Brody

Seth Brody, MD, MPH
Chief Medical Officer, Cary Hospital

Chuck Harr

Charles Harr, MD
Chief Medical Officer, Raleigh Campus

Medical Staff

Our physicians represent nearly every medical and surgical specialty, with 90+% being either Board certified or Board eligible.  Our physicians hold key leadership positions throughout the organization - current presidents of our Medical Staffs are as follows:

  • Michael Weinstein, MD - President (Pathology)
  • Gay Gooden, MD - (Emergency Medicine)